Disney Legends StatueThe Walt Disney Company inducted 11 new Disney Legends at a ceremony at the Burbank Walt Disney Studios yesterday. The Legends are chosen by a selection committee created by Roy E. Disney.

The program honors gifted animators, Imagineers, songwriters, actors and business leaders as having made a significant impact on the Disney legacy.

There are now 227 Disney Legends, including the 11 inducted yesterday.

This year’s inductees are:

  • Television pioneer Barbara Walters
  • Broadcasting legend Frank Gifford
  • Voice actor Wayne Allwine (Mickey Mouse)
  • Voice actress Russi Taylor (Minnie Mouse)
  • Disney Imagineer Bob Booth (Enchanted Tiki Room, New York World’s Fair Pavilions, EPCOT and Tokyo Disneyland)
  • Disney Imagineer Neil Gallagher (Mr. Lincoln for New York World’s Fair, Enchanted Tiki Room, Magic Kingdom, EPCOT, Disneyland Paris)
  • Representative director, chairman and CEO of the Oriental Land Company, Toshio Kagami
  • Animator Burny Mattinson (“Lady and the Tramp,” “Sleeping Beauty,” “101 Dalmatians,” “Beauty and the Beast,” “Aladdin,” “The Lion King”)
  • Animator Walt Peregoy (“Peter Pan,” “Lady and the Tramp,” “Sleeping Beauty,” “The Sword in the Stone,” “Mary Poppins,” “The Jungle Book”)
  • Disney Imagineer Dorothea Redmond (New Orleans Square, Fantasyland)
  • Musician Oliver Wallace (“Dumbo,” “Cinderella,” “Alice in Wonderland,” “Peter Pan,” “Lady and the Tramp”)

Each honoree received a Disney Legends Award sculpture signifying the imagination, creativity and magic they have brought to the company. The new Disney Legends also participated in a hand-print ceremony. Congratulations to all and many thanks for your contributions to Disney magic over the years.

Hat tip The Disney Blog.


Share On Social Media